ONE Championship returned to Macau, China this evening for ONE: Kings and Conquerors which took place at The Venetian Macau Hotel.

In the main event, ONE bantamweight champion Bibiano Fernandes smashed through Andrew Leone in double quick time.

Straight from the opening bell the Brazilian looked aggressive and with a minute on the clock he pushed Leone up against the cage and engaged him in a clinch. After a brief struggle, Fernandes landed a massive knee to send the American to the mat and from there he swarmed him with strikes.

Fernandes looked at the referee to call it off as he continued to lay in the ground and pound, but Leone continued to try and improve position and defend. Fernandes then finished the fight by sinking in a rear-naked choke to force the tap.

It took the champion just one minute and 47-seconds to defend his title in what might be his most impressive performance to date.

Adriano Moraes snaps Kairat Akhmetov’s 23-fight win streak to claim the ONE flyweight title

In the co-main event, Kairat Akhmetov defended his ONE flyweight title against Adriano Moraes of American Top Team. Akhmetov and Moraes first met over two years ago at ONE: Dynasty of Champions when the Kazakhstani fighter won the fight via unanimous decision to claim the title.

This time around both fighters were promising it wouldn’t got to a decision, but with their skills sets so closely matched, it was no surprise to anyone that it went the distance once again.

Throughout the contest both fighters look to use their incredible speed and reactions to create openings for takedowns but for the most part they matched each other move for move. Akhmetov appeared to drop Moraes down to the mat with a left hand in the opening exchanges of round three, but Moraes recovered well and on second viewing it looked to be more of a slip then a genuine knockdown.

As the fight moved into the championship rounds, Moraes’ kicks began to mount up and the champion began to slow down. The challenger landed a big headkick with a minute to go in the fourth, but Akhmetov ate it well and tried to reply with his own headkick which missed.

In the final round Moraes underlined his dominance as he took Akhmetov down to the mat early on and threatened with submissions and strikes. The champion rose to his feet with 30-seconds left, but as he hunted the knockout Moraes ducked under a hook and once again took him down to the mat.

After twenty-five minutes, the fight went to the judges and against the odds, Akhmetov’s 23-fight win streak was snapped. Adriano Moraes is the new ONE flyweight champion.

Wiratchai makes light work of Meena

Elsewhere on the card, Shannon Wiratchai extended his winning run to six unbeaten with a comprehensive first round victory over last minute replace, Rajinder Singh Meena. The Thai fighter landed a big knee in the first clinch of the contest and dropped the Indian down to the mat.

Wiratchai then showed his class by not following Meena down to the mat and causing further damage. The referee recognized the Indian fighter was done and quickly wove the contest off barely a minute in.

Prachnio flattens Galvao

European interest came in the form of Marcin Prachnio who defeated Gilbert Galvao via knockout in the first round. The Polish fighter landed a huge overhand right and dropped the Brazilian down to the mat. Galvao was in no fit state to continue once down and the referee wove the fight off before Prachnio could cause too much further damage.

Having pulled out of a middleweight title fight injured at the start of the year, Prachnio will no doubt be right back in the title mix with that win last evening.

ONE: Kings and Conquerors Full Results:

Bibiano Fernandes def. Andrew Leone via submission (rear-naked choke), Round 1 – for ONE bantamweight title
Adriano Moraes def. Kairat Akhmetov via unanimous decison – for ONE flyweight title
Hayato Suzuki def. Joshua Pacio via submission (rear-naked choke), Round 1
Shannon Wiratchai def. Rajinder Singh Meena via KO (knee), Round 1
Timofey Nastyukhin def. Koji Ando via unanimous decision
Jomary Torres def Rika Ishige via submission (rear-naked choke), Round 2
Lei Chen def. Saiful Merican via submission (armbar), Round 3
Kotetsu Boku def. Eric Kelly via TKO (Strikes), Round 3
Leandro Ataides def. Michał Pasternak via unanimous decision
Marcin Prachnio def. Gilbert Galvao via KO (strikes), Round 1
Magomed Idrisov def. Herbert Burns via unanimous decision
Leandro Issa def. Toni Tauru via TKO (strikes), Round 2